Home > audio 'stache, Orbo & The Longshots > audio ‘stache: Witness the Rising of “Prairie Sun”: The New Album by ORBO & THE LONG SHOTS

audio ‘stache: Witness the Rising of “Prairie Sun”: The New Album by ORBO & THE LONG SHOTS

Rootsy rock band’s new album features guest appearance from Delbert McClinton and is currently streaming in full on AOL Music.

Norwegian Grammy winners ORBO and the Longshots are ready to make their mark on America with their debut U.S. release, Prairie Sun. The album has garnered advance praise from the music press as well as from radio programmers, who have taken to songs like “Magic” and “Highway Tears.” Prairie Sun is currently streaming on AOL Music and you can watch the video for the single “Highway Tears” below.


Prairie Sun was recorded in Cotati, California at Prairie Sun Studios, which has hosted artists such as Paul McCartney, Neko Case, and Tom Waits, provided the perfect mix of vintage gear and a rural setting that added to the organic feel of the new record. The band was so pleased with their experience there that they named both a song-and then the entire album-after the studio.The record was produced by ORBO and Erick Jaskowiak (Vince Gill, Alison Krauss, Ralph Stanley and Del McCoury) and features special guests Delbert McClinton, Fats Kaplan (Buddy Miller, Waylon Jennings, Garth Brooks) and John Jorgenson (Elton John, Bonnie Raitt, Earl Scruggs).

Says ORBO, “We play rock ‘n’ roll with a rootsy American twist-some gospel, some country, blues and more-and this time out, we found a way to blend the way we sound live and the way we sound in the studio on one album.”

Nashville’s Music City News calling ORBO and the Longshots “One of the best international acts I have heard in a long, long time!” and OA.NO in Norway proclaiming that “Prairie Sun is rock solid and magnificent… A shining masterpiece.”

The quintet takes its names from the initials of the group’s charismatic founder, guitarist and frontman, Ole Reinert Berg-Olsen, and he is joined by Longshots Ine Tumyr (vocals, percussion), Reidar Opdal (piano, vocals) Paul Inge Vikingstad (bass) and Stian Tumyr (drums).

A late summer/early fall tour will be announced soon.

Prairie Sun:  iTunes |Amazon

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: